Tags

,

Why travel?

I could give you a million reasons ranging from “It’s fun” to the lofty “Travel allows you to break down preconceived notions and stereotypes of what people are like, bringing you closer to understanding diverse cultures in an increasingly globalized world.”

They are equally valid reasons for setting foot on foreign shores.

One thing I don’t travel for is relaxation. That’s for vacations. What’s the difference? I consider a vacation to be something like a week in Hawaii lazing on the beach, reading novels and worrying only about preventing a sunburn and making sure I get the best kalua pork.

That sounds lovely right about now, but I’m more into craving the absurd: I honestly think it’s a good idea to fly to Bulgaria and hitch a ride with a trucker to wherever his route takes him. I’ve never been to Bulgaria, and I believe that would be a great introduction.

What amazes me is when Americans go to places like Paris or London, stay in a Best Western and get their culinary diversity by eating the macarons now sold at McDonald’s locations in Europe.

It actually makes me want to scream.

Talk to locals. Stay where they stay. Eat what they eat. Yes, do the touristy stuff – it’s touristy for a reason, after all – but live as the locals live. Even if for just a day.

That’s when travel becomes valuable. That’s when it’s an experience that doesn’t compare, and that’s most likely the moment you become/became addicted to it.

